118 seek elective positions in Zamboanga City


A total of 118 individuals have filed their certificates of candidacy (COCs) seeking election for various positions in Zamboanga City for the 2022 national and local polls, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) here announced Wednesday.

Of the total, eight filed their COCs for mayor, five for vice mayor, six for congressman in the first district, five in the second district, 51 aspirants for councilor in the first district, and 43 in the second district, based on the data released by the Comelec office here.

The candidates for mayor include three incumbent elected officials – Vice Mayor Rommel Agan of the United Nationalist Alliance (UNA); first district Congressman Cesar Jimenez Jr., Nationalist People’s Coalition (NPC); and, second district Councilor John Dalipe, Lakas-Christian and Muslim Democrats (Lakas-NUCD).

The remaining five aspirants include former mayor and congressman Celso Lobregat, Laban ng Demokratikong Pilipino (PDP); Ephraim Ekong, Kilusang Bagong Lipunan (KBL); Abubakar Barahama, Partido Federal ng Pilipinas (PFP); and independent candidates Karim Ismail and Dr. Cesar Climaco Jr.

The Comelec data also showed that three of five aspirants for the vice mayoral position are incumbent elected officials, a former city councilor, and a retired police officer.

The candidates for vice mayor include first district Councilor Elbert Atilano, UNA; second district Councilor Benjamin Guingona IV, LDP; Councilor Josephine Pareja, Partido Prosperidad y Amor para na Zamboanga (PAZ); lawyer and former city councilor Melchor Sadain, Lakas-NUCD; and, retired Brig. Gen. Julmunier Jubail, KBL.

The six aspirants for first district representative are Mayor Maria Isabelle Climaco, PAZ; Khymer Olas, Adelante Zamboanga Party (AZaP); Allain Alibasa, KBL; Nur-Aisa Awis, PFP; Taib Nasaron, Independent; and, lawyer Wendell Sotto, Lakas-NUCD.

In the second congressional district, the candidates are reelectionist Congressman Manuel Jose Dalipe, Lakas-NUCD; Councilor Juan Climaco Elago II, PAZ; Councilor Jerry Perez, the Liga ng Mga Barangay president, LDP; retired Col. Fictal Majuddin, PFP; and, Mohammad Sali Ladjamatli, KBL.

Meanwhile, three of the 51 candidates for city councilors in the first district, and four of the 43 aspirants in the second district are seeking reelection.

One of the candidates in the second district is incumbent Councilor John Cary Pioc representing the Sangguniang Kabataan in the local legislative body.

This city, which comprises 98 barangays, is divided into two congressional districts.

There are 37 barangays in the first district with 193,912 registered voters, and 61 villages in the second district with 209,552 electorates.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.