New coalition out to stop Duterte’s top dog in 2022

Convernors Howard Calleja, former congressman Neri Colmenares, Bro. Armin Luistro, former Audit commissioner Heidi Mendoza, Father Albert Alejo, retired Admiral Rommel Ong and Rene Magtubo lead the launching of 1Sambayanan on Thursday, March 18, 2021 in Makati City. Led by retired Supreme Court Justice Antonio Carpio, 1Sambayanan is a broad coalition of democratic forces representing a spectrum of legitimate political persuasions in the Philippines that aims to usher in a competent, trustworthy administration for the May 2022 elections. It aims to field a single slate of national candidates for president, vic president and 12 senators.

A newly-formed coalition out to challenge the top dog of the Duterte administration in the 2022 polls is currently seeking its own top contender.


1Sambayanan, which was launched on Thursday, was co-founded by prominent political and social personalities like retired Supreme Court Associate Justice Antonio Carpio, who called the Duterte administration “incompetent.”


Carpio said that they have already met with personalities like Vice President Leni Robredo, Manila Mayor Isko Moreno, Sen. Nancy Binay, Sen. Grace Poe, and former Sen. Antonio Trillanes.


“We are prepared to accept suggestions from everyone… What is important is we agreed on the process that at the end of the day we will only choose one slate,” he said.


Carpio said 1Sambayanan aims to give Filipino voters a better alternative aside from the “anointed one” of President Rodrigo Duterte in 2022.

“So, we have to offer a better alternative for people because we don’t want the same thing to happen again in the next six years,” Carpio said during the launch of the 1Sambayan coalition.


Aside from Carpio, other convenors of the coalition include retired Associate Justice Conchita Carpio-Morales, former Foreign Affairs Secretary Albert Del Rosario, former Education Secretary Armin Luistro, Jesuit priest Fr. Albert Alejo, retired Rear Admiral Rommel Ong, former Negros Occidental Governor Rafael Coscolluela, former Commission on Audit Commissioner Heidi Mendoza, former lawmaker Neri Colmenares, Atty. Howard Calleja, Partido ng Manggagawa’s Rene Magtubo and Ricky Xavier.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.