Hallasgo rules Milo marathon nat’l finals, ends Tabal’s 6-year reign

PHOTO COURTESY: Joanna Marie Hornido Cruz

MANILA, Philippines — Christine Hallasgo flattened the field with a remarkable performance Sunday to rule the women’s 42-kilometer Milo Marathon National Finals in Tarlac City.

Hallasgo emerged as the queen of the field and dethroned Mary Joy Tabal who reigned supreme in the event for six consecutive years.

Hallasgo, a Manila Milo eliminations winner, clocked 2:52:53 to beat Tabal who clocked 2:58:49 for second place.

Christabel Martes who was raised in La Trinidad, Benguet, finished third after clocking 3:05:04.

In the men’s division, Jerald Zabala was hailed as the fastest man in this edition after clocking 2:31:16 to edge Richard Salaño with 2:31:07 while Jason Agravante finished third.

The national finals of the 2019 Milo Marathon series were moved from December last year to January owing to the 30th SEA Games that the country hosted from Nov. 30 to Dec. 11. (Lloyd Tagbago/IAMIGO/Currentph.com)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.