Order of Lapu-Lapu posthumously conferred to 6 soldiers by Duterte

TACLOBAN CITY—Six Army soldiers, who perished in an encounter with communist insurgents in Eastern Samar, were posthumously conferred the Order of Lapu-Lapu, Rank of Kalasag by President Rodrigo Roa Duterte in Catbalogan City on Friday, November 15.

President Duterte arrived at Camp General Vicente Lukban in Catbalogan City to honor the soldiers who died during a November 11 clash with the New People’s Army (NPA) in Borongan City, Eastern Samar. He also condoled with the families of the slain soldiers.

The recipients of the award were SSgt. Rex Jadulco, Sgt. Ronaldo Go, Sgt. Limar Banug, Cpl. Junmar Buranday, Cpl. Kent Lloyd Agullo, and Pfc. Charlie Del Rosario.

Aside from those killed, 24 other soldiers were wounded during the encounter. Sixteen personnel, confined at the Camp Lukban Station Hospital, were conferred the Order of Lapu-Lapu, Rank of Kampilan by the President.

Four other soldiers, injured during separate clashes with the rebels, were also conferred the Order of Lapu-Lapu by President Duterte.

Critically injured soldiers and police personnel in the Borongan City encounter were also conferred the Order of Lapu-Lapu, Rank of Kampilan by President Duterte. They are recuperating at the Divine Word Hospital in Tacloban City.

The Order of Lapu-Lapu is given to persons in the government or private sector who have rendered extraordinary service or have made exceptional contributions to the success of the President’s campaign or advocacy.

The Kampilan Medal is conferred on persons who were seriously wounded or suffered great loss of property as a direct result of their participation in such action.

The Kalasag Medal, on the other hand, is given to officials and personnel of the government and private individuals who lost their lives as a direct result of their participation in an activity pursuant to a campaign or advocacy of the President.

The dependents of the soldiers killed in action received financial assistance from the government while other support were extended through the state’s Comprehensive Social Benefit Program. The injured Army and police personnel were also given financial support.

Participating agencies under the social benefit program include the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA), and the Department of Health (DOH).

Other agencies providing assistance are National Housing Authority (NHA), Commission on Higher Education (CHED), National Police Commission (NAPOLCOM), and the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP). (PND/IAMIGO/CNS)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.