DOH imposes Alert Level 4 in NCR, 25 other areas due to Covid case spikes

Cyclists can now enjoy safety as members of DPWH install barriers to be made as bike lanes in major thoroughfare in the city of Manila on early Sunday, August 23, 2020. Photo by KD Madrilejos/Rappler

The Department of Health (DOH) has placed eight areas in the National Capital Region (NCR) and over 25 others nationwide under Alert Level 4 due to the high number of coronavirus disease 2019 cases.

This, as the DOH detected the Delta variant in 16 of the 17 localities in the NCR, with Las Pinas having the highest number at 23.

At an online briefing Friday, Health Undersecretary Maria Rosario Vergeire said under Alert Level 4, healthcare utilization rate (HCUR) is higher than 70 percent and classified as moderate- to critical-risk.

In Metro Manila, areas under Alert Level 4 are Quezon City, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Taguig, Makati, Malabon, San Juan and Pateros.

Also under Alert Level 4 are Cordillera Administrative Region – Apayao, Baguio City, Benguet; Region 1- Ilocos Norte; Region 2 – Cagayan, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino; Region 3 – Angeles City, Bataan, Olongapo City, Pampanga, Tarlac; Region 4-A – Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Quezon, Lucena City; Region 6 – Iloilo, Iloilo City; Region 7 – Cebu, Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City; Region 8 – Tacloban City; Region 10 – Bukidnon, Cagayan de Oro City, Camiguin; Region 11 – Davao City; Region 12 – General Santos City.

Vergeire said the highly transmissible Delta variant had been detected in all cities in Metro Manila.

“These alert levels will give us triggers kung ano ‘yung kailangan na nating gawin at saka kung ano ‘yung mga flagged areas natin (what we need to do and what our flagged areas are),” Vergeire said.

For areas under Alert Level 1 are considered minimal- to low-risk and with a negative two-week case growth rate and HCUR lower than 50 percent. This also means transmission and the HCUR are low and there is no Delta variant case recorded.

Areas under Alert Level 1 are Region 4-B – Palawan; Region 5 – Camarines, Norte, Albay; Region 7 – Negros Oriental; Region 8 – Biliran; Region 9 – Zamboanga Sibugay; BARMM – Maguindanao, Tawi-Tawi, Basilan.

Vergeire said the Philippines now averages 8,284 new coronavirus cases per day from July 31 to Aug. 6.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.