President Duterte recognizes outstanding OFW families in 2019 MOFYA

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte strikes his signature pose with officials of the Overseas Workers Welfare Administration (OWWA) during the awarding ceremony for the 2019 Model Overseas Filipino Worker (OFW) Family of the Year Award (MOFYA) at the Malacañan Palace. (ACE MORANDANTE/PRESIDENTIAL PHOTO/IAMIGO/CNS)

MANILA, Philippines – President Rodrigo Roa Duterte has recently recognized the hard works of the overseas Filipino workers (OFWs) and their families through the 2019 Model OFW Family of the Year Awards (MOFYA).

“Let me take this opportunity to acknowledge your impact on our country’s progress not only in terms of your invaluable contribution to the economy but also in showcasing the skills and talents of the Filipino to the international community,” President Duterte said during the 2019 Model OFW Family of the Year National Awarding in Malacañang.

“Let me assure you that in return, we, in government, will continue to ensure that your efforts to uplift the lives of your families shall not be put in vain.”

This will remain as one of the top priorities of the government, according to the President.

More than ever, the Chief Executive said, the country needs the OFWs and their families to take part in nation-building efforts and made a renewed call for them to carry out with their pursuits and aspirations.

The President thanked the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE), the Overseas Workers Welfare Administration (OWWA), and the Model OFW Family of the Year Awards organizing committee for giving due recognition to the country’s OFWs and their families.

The Model OFW Family of the Year Award is an annual search that showcases the best practices on how to nurture an OFW family despite the distance and challenges, and on how their success resonates with the rest of society.

MOFYA has two award categories: regional and national winners. All 17 regions had two MOFYA winners, one from the landbased category and one from the sea-based category.

Organizers chose two national winners, one from landbased and one from sea-based categories from among 34 regional winners.

National winners received P500,000 and trophy while the regional winners got P30,000 each. Moreover, the special awardees received P75,000 each plus trophy. (PND/IAMIGO/CNS)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.