Duterte signs order devolving executive functions to LGUs


President Rodrigo Duterte has signed an executive order (EO) transferring executive functions to local government units (LGUs).

EO 138, signed by Duterte on June 1, transfers basic services and facilities to the LGUs so that “national government agencies can assume more strategic and steering functions to address persistent development issues.”

Under the EO, the national government agencies (NGAs) concerned and all LGUs shall prepare their respective devolution transition plans (DTPs), which conform to the guidelines to be jointly issued by the Department of Budget and Management (DBM) and the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG).

“There shall be only one DTP for each department, which shall already cover the agencies and government-owned or -controlled corporations (GOCCs) under the control or supervision or attached to such department. The department secretaries shall lead and oversee the preparation and implementation of their DTPs,” the EO read.

Agencies and instrumentalities not under the control or supervision or attached to a department shall prepare and implement their own DTPs in consultation and coordination with the DBM and DILG.

The NGA DTPs shall identify and clarify the functions and services devolved to the LGUs, by level of LGU, based on Republic Act 7160 or the Local Government Code and other relevant laws, and the strategy for and phasing of devolution to the LGUs.

They shall also include the definition of standards for the delivery of devolved services; strategy for the capacity development of the LGUs; framework for monitoring and performance assessment of the LGUs; and an organizational effectiveness proposal to strengthen the department/agency in assuming “steering functions” as part of the devolution efforts.

The NGAs concerned may consult and collaborate with the DILG, National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA), Department of Finance (DOF), Civil Service Commission (CSC), and the Development Academy of the Philippines (DAP), and other resource institutions for technical assistance in the preparation of their respective DTPs.

The DTP shall be submitted by the NGAs concerned to the DBM within 120 days from the effectivity date of this order, for evaluation and approval.

“The National Government (NG) is fully committed to the policy of decentralization enshrined in the Constitution and relevant laws which are aimed at (i) development capabilities of local governments to deliver basic social services and critical facilities to their constituents, increase productivity and employment, and promote local economic growth; and (ii) ensuring accountability, competence, professionalism and transparency of local leaders through the development of institutional systems that uphold good governance and strengthen their capacities for managing public resources,” the EO read.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.