Quarantine areas starting July 1


Government sets quarantine restrictions starting July 1 to July 15 in the following areas.

Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ)—Cebu City.

General Community Quarantine (GCQ)—National Capital Region, Benguet, Cavite, Rizal, Leyte, Southern Leyte, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, Ormoc City, Talisay City, Minglanilla (Cebu), Consolacion (Cebu).

Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ)—Cordillera Autonomous Region (Abra, Baguio City, Ifugao, Kalinga); Region 1 (Ilocos Norte, La Union, Pangasinan); Region 2 (Cagayan, Isabela); Region 3 (Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Angeles City); Region 4-A (Batangas, Laguna, Quezon, Lucena City); Region 4-B (Palawan, Puerto Princesa City); Region 5 (Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Naga City); Region 6 (Capiz, Iloilo, Iloilo City, Negros Occidental, Bacolod City); Region 7 (Cebu Province, Bohol, Negros Oriental); Region 8 (Tacloban, Western Samar); Region 9 (Zamboanga City, Zamboanga Del Sur); Region 10 (Bukidnon, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro City); Region 11 (Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao City, Davao de Oro); Region 12 (Cotabato, South Cotabato). Region 13 (Agusan del Norte, Butuan City, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao).

All other areas not on this list will be under “low-risk classification.”

Senator Juan Edgardo Angara called for the establishment of more mega quarantine facilities in Region 7, especially in Cebu as the number of cases continue to rise in the various provinces in Central Visayas.

“We need to put up more mega quarantine facilities in Region 7, especially in Cebu City, which could become the country’s next COVID-19 hotspot in the country. The Department of Health should step up its response in Cebu City because the only way that we can flatten the curve is if all areas of the country are able to control the spread of the disease,” Angara said.

The Department of Health (DOH) said on Tuesday it is closely monitoring several areas in Mindanao, considered now as “emerging hotspots” for COVID-19.

These are  Bukidnon, Lanao del Norte, and Misamis Occidential for Region X; Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur and Davao Oriental for Region XI; South Cotabato ang Sultan Kudarat for Region XII; and Maguindanao within the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM)./Stacy Ang

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.