‘Now they can move with their lives’—Roque

Maguinadanao Massacre verdict
“V” for victory. Led by counsel Harry Roque, families of victims in the gruesome Maguindanao Massacre flash the victory sign shortly after Judge Jocelyn Solis-Reyes announced a guilty verdict against the principal suspects. (IAMIGO/CNS) 

MANILA, Philippines – One of the counsels of the Ampatuan massacre victims claimed Thursday, the guilty verdict handed down by Judge Jocelyn Solis-Reyes is a very welcome development especially on the part of relatives who now embark on a new beginning of their lives aside from emotional healing.

The family of the victims hailed the decision by the Quezon City Regional Trial Court that convicted guilty the principal suspects in the case.

Shortly after Judge Reyes ended the hearing with a guilty footnote, families of the victims walked out of the annex court in Camp Bagong Diwa in Taguig with a smile on their faces.

Former Presidential Spokesman lawyer Harry Roque said many among them finally found “closure” in the darkest chapter of their lives over the death of loved ones and trial of 10 grueling years which also claimed at least the death of 3 witnesses who were shot dead.

Roque represented the relatives of 19 of the 58 killed in the 2009 massacre.

“Now, they can move on with their lives,” Roque said, as his clients gestured hand “V” signs to the crowd outside the camp to signal “victory.”

Meanwhile, the complete list of media workers murdered was the following:

  1. Alejandro Reblando
  2. Andres Teodoro
  3. Arturo Betia
  4. Benjie Adolfo
  5. Bienvenido Legarte Jr.
  6. Daniel Tiamson
  7. Ernesto Maravilla
  8. Fernando Razon
  9. Francisco Subang
  10. Gina dela Cruz
  11. Hannibal Cachuela
  12. Henry Araneta
  13. Jepon Cadagdagon
  14. Jhoy Duhay
  15. Joel Parcon
  16. John Caniban
  17. Jolito Evardo
  18. Lea Dalmacio
  19. Lindo Lupogan
  20. Marife Montaño
  21. Marites Cablitas
  22. Mark Gilbert Arriola
  23. Napoleon Salaysay
  24. Noel Decina
  25. Rey Merisco
  26. Reynaldo Momay
  27. Romeo Jimmy Cabillo
  28. Ronie Perante
  29. Rosell Morales
  30. Rubello Bataluna
  31. Santos Gatchalian
  32. Victor Nuñez

Meanwhile, the following were among those killed:

Mangudadatu clan

  1. Genalin Tiamzon Mangudadatu
  2. Eden Gaguil Mangudadatu
  3. Farinah Mangudadatu Hassan
  4. Rowena Ante Mangudadatu
  5. Surayyda Gaguil Bernan
  6. Wahida Ali Kalim
  7. Mamotabai Mangudadatu
  8. Raida Abdul Sapalon
  9. Faridah Sabdullah Gaguil


  1. Pinky Balayman
  2. Lailani Balayman
  3. Eugene Demillo Pamansag
  4. Abdillah Ayada
  5. Rahima Palawan
  6. Meriam Calimbol


  1. Concepcion Jayme-Brizuela
  2. Cynthia Oquendo-Ayon
  3. Catalino Oquendo Jr.

Van Drivers

  1. Norton Edza Ebus
  2. Razul Daud Bulilo


  1. Eduardo Lechonsito
  2. Cecille Lechonsito
  3. Mercy Palabrica
  4. Daryll delos Reyes
  5. Wilhelm Palabrica
  6. Anthony Ridao (IAMIGO/CNS)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.