DOH introduces 3-year capacity program for guvs, PHOs

Participants and guests of the Provincial Leadership and Management Program for UHC (PLMP-UHC) Module 1 obliges for a group picture at the close of the three-day seminar at Heritage Hotel from October 16-18, 2019. (GLEN RAMOS/BCUARESMA/IAMIGO/CNS)

MANILA, Philippines — In partnership with the Zuellig Family Foundation Institute (ZFFI) for Health Leadership, the Department of Health (DOH)-Calabarzon has started the three-year capacity building program for Governors and Provincial Health Officers with theme “PHO4UHC – A Bridging Leadership Approach In Making Your Health System UHC-Ready” at the Heritage Hotel last October 16-18, 2019.

Regional Director Eduardo C. Janairo said the program’s objective is to develop strategic leadership, governance and management skills in order to create an effective and responsive provincial health systems in support of the Universal Health Care Law.

“Kailangan na nating maisaayos ang lahat ng programa sa ating health system at magagawa na natin ito dahil mayroon na tayong Universal Health Care Law. Pagtitibayin natin ang mga serbisyong pangkalusugan sa ating mga primary health care,” Janairo emphasized during the three-day Module 1 workshop.

“Napakalaki ng role na gagampanan nyo (PHO) at ng ating mga LGUs sa pagtatagumpay ng UHC dahil kayo ang mangunguna sa implementation ng mga programa, pagbibigay ng direction, policies, regulations, deployment of resources to accomplish goals and ensuring that all these objectives are met,” he said.

“What you will learn from this program will provide you innovative and creative ways to attain the objectives of UHC. You need to look beyond your mandate as a local leader and to a more significant role of being the principal administrator for the success of the UHC. Nasa kamay ninyo ang ikatatagumpay ng programa at ikabubutin ng in kalusugan ng inyong mga mamamayan.”

Two provinces of CALABARZON are among the 33 identified implementation sites namely Batangas and Quezon.

The other provinces and cities are Valenzuela, Parañaque, Dagupan City, Baguio, Benguet, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Bataan, Tarlac, Oriental Mindoro, Masbate, Sorsogon, Aklan, Antique, Guimaras, Iloilo, Cebu province, Biliran, Leyte, Samar, Zamboanga del Norte, Cagayan de Oro, Misamis Oriental, Compostela Valley, Davao del Norte, Sarangani, South Cotabato, Agusan del Sur, Agusan del Norte, and Maguindanao. (BCUARESMA/GLEN RAMOS/IAMIGO/CNS)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.