DOH announces areas under ECQ, GCQ, MGCQ



The Department of Health (DOH) has announced  areas under new quarantine restrictions effective Wednesday.

In a virtual briefing with President Rodrigo Duterte, aired past midnight of July 8, Health Secretary Francisco Duque III, on Duterte’s instructions, read the community quarantine designations for the following local government units.

Duque said Cebu City remains under Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ). He explained that the reason why it remained as ECQ is that their “case doubling time” was short — below 7–  that puts them at “high risk.”  He also said the the city’s “health systems capacity”   is overwhelmed with the high number of cases.

On the other hand, under General Community Quarantine (GCQ), the following areas are as follows: National Capital Region;   Benguet;  Cavite;  Rizal;  Lapu Lapu City;  Mandaue City;  Leyte;  Ormoc;  Southern Leyte;  Talisay City in  Cebu;  and the Towns of Minglanilla and Consolacion in Cebu province.

Under Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ)   (With strict local action), the following areas are as follows:  CAR (Cordillera Administrative Region): Abra, Baguio City, Ifugao and Kalinga;   Region 1: Ilocos Norte, La Union and Pangasinan;   Region 2: Cagayan and Isabela;    Region 3: Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga and  Angeles City;   Region 4A: Batangas, Laguna,  Quezon, Lucena City;  Region 4B: Palawan, Puerto Princesa City;  Region 5: Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Naga City;   Region 6: Capiz, Iloilo, Iloilo City, Negros Occidental, Bacolod City;  Region 7: Cebu Province, Bohol, Negros Oriental;    Region 8: Tacloban City, Western Samar;  Region 9: Zamboanga City, Zamboanga del Sur;   Region 10: Bukidnon, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro;   Region 11: Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao City, Davao de Oro;  Region 12: Cotabato, South Cotabato;    Region 13: Agusan del Norte, Butuan City;  and  BARMM (Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao):   Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur.

The rest of the Philippines remains under  Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ)  of “low risk”. /Stacy Ang

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.