Yulo to light the SEA Games flame, 6 others named flag bearers

Lloyd Tagbago
Lloyd Tagbago is a member of the Current News Service (CNS). An active video documentarist, Tagbago provides excellent video content for Currentph.com. Reach him at Lloyd.tagbago@currentph.com.

MANILA, Philippines – World champion gymnast Carlos Edriel Yulo will be the torchbearer during the opening ceremony of the 30th Southeast Asian Games on November 30, 2019.

Meantime, six other athletes led by Olympic silver medalist Hidilyn Diaz will carry the flag during the parade of national continents on the same day at Philippine Arena in Bulacan.

Aside from Diaz, world champion boxer Nesthy Petecio, Asian Games skateboarding gold medalist Margielyn Didal, world boxing championships silver medalist Eumir Marcial, Olympic pole-vaulter EJ Obiena, and SEA Games judo champion Kiyomi Watanabe will parade the national colors at the opening.

Officials said that Yulo was tasked to light the Sea Games flame for his accomplishment at the world artistic gymnastics championship last month in Germany after he snared a gold in men’s floor exercise, the first such feat by a Filipino in the history of the tournament.

The Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) has no formal announcement yet about it, but an online newspaper said these athletes have already been handpicked.

Top sports officials will hold a press conference to officially announce the development. (Lloyd Tagbago/IAMIGO/CNS)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Celiz and Baduy House Drama–Part of Destab?

Yesterday, there was a commotion caused by Jeffrey Celiz, who claimed to have defected from the New People's Army (NPA), and Lore Badoy, a...

IS-Maute Group claims Marawi bombing: How did they when Duterte already exterminated them?

If this is true, about Islamic Militants claiming responsibility behind the cowardly bombing of Mindanao State University (MSU), which killed eleven people and injured...

VP Sara Duterte to be impeached?

Speaker Martin Romualdez and his political allies deny allegations circulating that moves to impeach Vice President Sara Duterte are ongoing. House Majority Leader Jose...

Duterte’s Downfall: A Tragedy Orchestrated by His Associates

Witnessing the current state of former President Rodrigo Roa Duterte is nothing short of a lamentable spectacle. Let's face it – the once self-proclaimed...

Senator Leila De Lima Freed at last

After six long years in prison, former Senator Leila de Lima is now free to rebuild her life. Her freedom comes from a successful...
Verified by MonsterInsights